Talisker Distillery was founded in 1830 by the brothers Hugh and Kenneth MacAskill of Eigg, sons of the doctor for the Small Isles. Along with most other malt distilleries, Talisker was closed between 1941 – 45 because of government restrictions on the supply of barley to conserve food supplies during the Second World War. Production ceased for a second time when the stillhouse was destroyed by fire on 22nd November 1960 and in a major exercise to conserve the unique flavour of Talisker, the five stills which had been lost in the fire were replaced with exact copies when the distillery re-opened in 1962.
Full gold, bright and shot with pink. The aroma is pungent and complex; sweet overall, but dries out. Noticable peat smoke and even iodine. Very light sulphur, toffee and faintly fishy. With water, Sherry and kippers; wax paper and candlewax; iodine, hemp, pine resin. Fresh. Full bodied. The primary taste is sweet and salty, with a powerful peat-smoke ‘catch’ in the finish, which is relatively short. Other flavours are of resin and burnt butter.